That joke isn’t funny anymore

I’m going to start this post off with a brief introduction to why football is the most important part of my life. It’s the reason I leave work until the last minute. It’s the reason why I was in tears on Saturday when we conceded against Bolton on Saturday in the FA Cup. It’s the reason I’ve been to such amazing places as Grimsby, Exeter, Coventry, Leicester, and London more times than for a social visit. It’s sitting in Wembley in 1996 for the FA Trophy final and proving you were the better of the Battle of Cheshire against Northwich Victoria. It’s sitting at Stamford Bridge and getting an equaliser against a team of Shevchenko, Lampard, and Terry amongst others. It’s winning 6-0 against Stockport. It’s sitting in Wetherspoon in my home town taking the piss out of Darren Gibson to annoy a Manchester United fan. It’s truly everything to me.

But now, I live in Scotland, the great white north, and a land of unbridled passion towards the game that I love, and a land where more people have asked me one question than at any time in my life:

“But who’s your premiership club?” 

Even now, after having held season ticket after season ticket at a club I adore, I still get annoyed when asked this question, and it’s truly a stupid one.

When I go to a game on a Saturday and I see the ground of 5,500 half empty I do wonder whether it might actually be Macclesfield Town’s season this year, whether we need a 3rd round replay to survive for the next few years, and the question above is the reason that we do. It’s almost a lack of respect. But it’s not about how I feel about other people’s feelings on it – I know plenty of people who give everything to their local club and their premiership club, but it really isn’t for me.

I mean, let’s be realistic, we’re never going to be premiership club, probably never even a championship club, but I like to think that everyone saw the passion that the players and the fans have for the club on Saturday. Who knows? Maybe more people will pile through the gates for the visit of Torquay on Saturday after the team were lauded by pundits and football fans of all clubs.

What is more likely, however, is that these people will continue to watch the early game on Sky Sports, and the late game on ESPN, rather than get down and see their local club. It’s something I hold dear, and I truly believe the footballing world would benefit nationwide if people went down to their local club if the team they chose to support weren’t on TV. They truly need your money.

In future – a mid-way look at Macclesfield’s season, a look at the first 11 players and their prospects, and a lovely chat about the state of Scottish football outside of the big 2 and how they’re getting on.

Some are born with their club, some chose their club, and some have their club thrust upon them. I can safely say I have all three.

One thought on “That joke isn’t funny anymore

  1. Completely agree with you, that truly is a horrible question — one born of the Sky age. I don’t think I’ll ever quite grasp how people can just pick a ‘big’ club to support; it’s not a choice and certainly not one based on winning percentages.

Leave a Reply

